Home > About > Our People

Our People


Board of Directors and Standing Policy Committee Chairs

The Edmonton Chamber of Commerce's  volunteer board establishes and oversees the strategic vision of the organization. Along with policy committee volunteers, the board brings a depth of business acumen, leadership, professional experience and policy advice to both the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce and World Trade Centre Edmonton.

2014 Chair of the Board
Simon O'Byrne

Vice Chair
Jerri Cairns
Parlee McLaws LLP
 James Merkosky
Pricewaterhouse Coopers

Past Chair
Lindsay Dodd
Savvia Inc.


Bill Blais
Maclab Enterprises
Chris Bruce

Chris Bruce

Murray Scambler

Murray Scambler
Parker, Ford & McKay
Specialty Opticians

Jim Webb

Jim Webb
Urbanlife Properties Ltd.

Alyson Hodges 

Alyson Hodson
zag creative group


Gordon Molnar 

 Gordon Molnar
Pillar Systems



Ron Liteplo
EPCOR Utilities
Andrea Mondor
Andrea Mondor
Consulting Ltd.
Crystal Graham
Kasian Architecture Interior
Design and Planning Ltd.


Standing policy committees serve as the policy advise arm for the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce and World Trade Centre Edmonton. Appointed by the board and Edmonton Chamber staff, standing policy committee chairs provide leadership to teams of senior volunteers from the business community and develop policy positions aimed at lobbying various levels of government on issues important to business.

Municipal Affairs
Mike Saunders

Finance & Taxation
Craig Thorkelsson

Energy & Environment
Bill Ross
Vercerta Inc.

Workforce Development
Rick Butler
Lokken College 


Trade & Market Access
Darrell Toma
Toma & Bouma
Management Consultants


Edmonton Chamber of Commerce staff is dedicated to achieving our mission of creating the best environment for business. Edmonton Chamber staff are led by an experienced and cohesive executive team. The Edmonton Chamber strives to lobby on behalf of business, create value for our members and influence public opinion.


James Cumming
President & CEO

View All Events


On February 27 of 1889, the Edmonton Board of Trade was established.
In 1899, the board of trade acquired a 55-acre parcel of land, which became the site of the city’s new public park and racetrack.
In June 1915, the Edmonton Board of Trade raised $8,098 for the purchase of armaments for the 49th and 51st Battalions.
In 1928 the Edmonton Board of Trade was reconstituted as the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce.
In November of 1933, the chamber helped to promote recovery by advocating public works projects such as the Jasper and Yellowhead Highways.
In 1942, the chamber created an advertising bureau to help Edmonton merchants adjust to the anticipated decline in business during WWII.
In November 1946, the chamber formed the Better Business Division modeled after the Better Business Bureaus of Winnipeg and Vancouver.
In 1948 the chamber opened the first public tourism office, forerunner to Edmonton Tourism’s visitor centres.
1948 also saw the beginning of the chamber’s annual northern tours with its Friendship Train trip up the new Alaska Highway.
In January of 1978, the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce moved into the Sun Life Building at 99 Street and 101a Avenue.
In 1985, the chamber continued to aid the diversification of the Edmonton economy promoting the Edmonton Research Park.
On January 26, 2000, the chamber stepped into the 21st century with edmontonchamber.com.
On July 8, 2004 the chamber moved to its current location on the 7th floor of the nearby World Trade Centre Edmonton.
Copyright © 2011 Edmonton Chamber of Commerce.  All rights reserved.
600-9990 Jasper Avenue, Edmonton, AB T5J 1P7
Phone: (780) 426-4620 | Fax: (780) 424-7946 | info@edmontonchamber.com