Skip to content

Policy Committees

Policy committees help businesses in Edmonton by advocating on behalf of our members to positively influence decisions made by all levels of government.

Interested in shaping Edmonton Chamber policy and priorities?

Consider applying for one of the Edmonton Chamber’s six policy committees! Made of up of Chamber members, policy committees discuss and develop positions on issues affecting Edmonton’s business community. Once policy positions are established, they are incorporated into Chamber advocacy to appropriate levels of government in order to express member concerns and influence the impact of government decisions on business. The impact of our policy committees reaches far beyond the city, as each year the Edmonton Chamber has the unique opportunity to submit policies for consideration and potential approval to both the Alberta Chambers of Commerce and Canadian Chamber of Commerce. Our committees consist of remarkable individuals—employed by our member companies—that actively initiate positive change on behalf of businesses in Edmonton.

The application period for the 2022-23 policy committees has now closed. If you are interested in receiving more information or to join this dynamic policy community, please click the link below and the Chamber Policy team will connect with you.

Energy, Environment, and Natural Resource Committee


The Energy, Environment and Natural Resource Committee focuses on policies that support Edmonton’s energy and resource sectors while recognizing the impact those sectors have on the environment. The Committee aims to balance economic and environmental considerations and remains keenly aware of local, national and global trends that impact our industries.

The areas monitored by the Committee include but are not limited to energy market access, energy and environmental policy and regulation, forestry, agriculture and mining developments, innovation, research and development and artificial intelligence.


Stacey Schorr, Direct Energy


Derek Hollman, EPCOR



Bill Ross, Verceta

David MacLean, Alberta Industrial Heartland Association (AIHA)

Gord Rajewski, Pinchin Ltd

Jacalyn Hodgson, ATCO

Jason Comandante, Capital Power

Jason Krips, Alberta Forest Products Association (AFPA)

Russ Bell, Russ Bell & Associates

Ryan Leskiw, NAIT

Sean Collins, Varme

Vivian Agube, University of Alberta

Finance, Budget, and Regulation Committee


The Finance, Budget and Regulation Committee focuses on taxation, fiscal issues, insurance and regulation, procurement and development. The Committee monitors the fiscal activities of all levels of government and considers current macroeconomic conditions and trends.

The areas monitored by the Committee include but are not limited to fiscal policies and programs, tax policies and laws, insurance laws and regulations, procurement regulations, and municipal zoning and development.


Kathy Bonazew, MNP


Samrawit Tamru, BDC Advisory Services



Alan Gilligan, Ballad Consulting Group

Angela McDow, Info-Tech

Farooq Ahmed, Rotaflow

George Teply, CIMA Canada Inc.

Jason Maltais, Equitus Partners LLP

Jeremy Hamelin, Quickfire Mortgage

Joseph Yurkovich, Miller Thompson LLP

Keith Hennel, Dentons

Laura Marcato, Seniuk & Company

Dr. Rupak Sarma, Legal Researcher

Tim Morrison, Insurance Bureau of Canada (IBC)

Valerie Rodriguez, PWC

Vamsi Vinakari, Scotiabank

Health and Life Sciences Committee


With a strong research ecosystem and resources to support innovation and advanced manufacturing, the Edmonton region is home to a vibrant and growing medical sector. The Health and Life Sciences Committee focuses on current and anticipated challenges in the delivery of quality, accessible health care, as well as potential opportunities and solutions offered in the health and life sciences.

The areas monitored by the Committee include but are not limited to effective health care delivery and inclusivity, elder care, pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals, mental health, health records and data, innovation, research and development and artificial intelligence.


Dawn Harsch, Exquisicare


Loreen Wales, Revive Wellness


Hana Marinkovic, Applied Pharmaceutical Innovation

Joe Lizotte, Jasper Avenue Dental

Kathy Alves, Alberta Blue Cross

Kim King, King Strategies

Lisa Laferriere, Health Cities

Michelle Miller, Neogen

Natasha Laffin, Bennett Jones LLP

Shara Vigeant, SVPT Fitness & Athletics

Tarik Alatassi, Puravita Canada

Zhen Li, TC Scientific

Trade and Industry Committee


The Trade and Industry Committee is focused on policies that support investment attraction and access to markets, and the conditions to support manufacturing, export and emerging technologies. The Edmonton Chamber of commerce leverages a network of 320 World Trade Centres in 92 countries.

The areas monitored by the Committee include but are not limited to interprovincial and international access to markets, transportation, logistics and trade, trade policies and regulation, manufacturing and emerging technology industries locally, nationally and globally.


Alim Somji, Jaffer Inc.

Vice Chair:

Wray Steedsman, Edmonton Mennonite Centre for Newcomers


Aina Khan, SemTegra Solutions

Edy Wong, University of Alberta

Ian Morrison, Stantec

Jon Heisler, WSP Canada

Lea Storry, Our Family Lines

Lee Funke, Torque Communications

Mammen Tharakan, Edmonton International Airport (YEG)

Mark Evans, Complete Shipping Solutions

Michael Loftus, Student - University of Alberta

Workforce Development and Attraction Committee


The Workforce Development and Attraction Committee is focused on long-term workforce challenges and opportunities, building capacity in Edmonton’s workforce and ensuring members have the talented individuals needed to meet current demands and support future growth.

The areas monitored by the Committee include but are not limited to post-secondary education, skills training, immigration, employee relations, equity and diversity, unemployment and labour supply, early learning and child care, productivity and competitiveness, homelessness and infrastructure supporting the workforce.


Doha Melhem, Pivotal Research Inc


Andrea De Ocampo, Robert Half Canada

Anthony Pangilinan, University of Alberta

Ayo Aiyeleye, Alberta Innovates

Dave Foster, McLean Ross LLP

Doug Piquette, Edmonton Region Immigrant Employment Council (ERIEC)

Dylan Schoonover, Norquest College

Gopan Kurup, ARC Business Solutions Inc.

Masa Idelbi, Rohit Group

Mona Wajahat, SureHire Inc.

Rob Yager, United Way

Ryan Young, NAIT

Theresa Vladicka, MacEwan University

Arts, Tourism, and Hospitality Committee


The tourism and visitor economy is a vital part of the Edmonton Region’s vibrancy and prosperity, as is its major driver: the arts, entertainment, and recreation industry. The Arts, Tourism and Hospitality Committee focuses on what the sector needs to sustain operations in the future, chart economic recovery and showcase the Edmonton Region to residents and the world.

The areas monitored by the Committee include but are not limited to food service, accommodation, arts and culture, events, tourism, and the visitor economy.


Dan St. Pierre, Explore Edmonton


Brittney Roy, BKRx Inc.


Alon Faitelis, Summa Strategies Canada

Amber Rooke, The Works International Visual Arts Society

Anastasia Arabia, Trend Research

Derek Perchaluk, Oilers Entertainment Group (OEG)

Eve Rose, Eve Rose Interiors

Jeet Arora, Stanhope Eatery and Bar

Jill Allan, Alberta Craft Council

Jim Gibbon, Edmonton Heritage Festival

Michael Zaugg, Pro Coro Canada

Peter Ogilvie, Edmonton Destination Marketing Hotels Ltd

Sally Kim, Edmonton Arts Council

Scroll To Top